Skip to content

A Brunch Time Crunch at Le Pain Quotidien

February 14, 2010

Whew! I can’t believe it’s already past 5:00 pm and my room still looks like a tornado blew threw it — clothes draped haphazardly on chairs, underwear strewn around the floor and a huge backpack sitting empty in the middle of it all. Somehow, though, packing will eventually be finished. I hope…

The day started at church, where one of the speakers was the mayor of Cité Soleil, Haiti. In his town alone, at least 1,000 people died during the earthquake. The sermon was about wealth and how those who have a lot should give a lot — but not because they should but because they want to.

After church, I met Allie for brunch and goodbyes. Originally, the plan was to eat at Commissary. 30 minute wait.

How about Logan Tavern down the street? Absolutely packed.

Who would have thought restaurants would be so crowded for brunch on Valentine’s Day? 😉

We ended up at Le Pain Quotidien at Dupont Circle, always a good choice. I’d only been there for bread and sandwiches but never table service. It turned out to be a great choice, though.

The café au lait came in a huge bowl-like mug. Très mignon!

Allie and I were both super-impressed by the extensive brunch menu, which featured tons of organic and vegan (marked with a carrot symbol) options. She ordered a delicious organic scone that came with a few types of jam and Nutella.

I went for the Six Vegetable Quiche: “artichoke and garden vegetables on gluten-free buckwheat crust.”

Vegan quiche? Although quiche is traditionally made with eggs and milk or cream, this was more of a vegetable pie with six layers of delicious flavors.

So tasty! We both loved every bite of our food, all the while scoping out what other tables ordered. Brunch is such a great weekend activity, a nice chance to catch up and have a good girl-talk.

I picked up my borrowed backpack from her apartment and headed back out to the ‘burbs to start packing. Anyone want to come over and pack for me? Pleeeeease?! 😀

Keep your fingers crossed — just went online to confirm my flight (no on-line check-in, unfortunately) and as of now, there’s no one in the seat next to me. How amazing would that be to have a little extra room during a 15-hour flight?

Tomorrow, I’ll show you how to pack for two months on the road. Believe me, it’s no fun but so worth it.

Have a lovely night. Bon nuit!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 6:09 pm

    So, the time is upon you, huh? Time really flies. Have a great time in Oz. Can’t wait for the updates.
    I had brunch at Le Pain Quotidien in Paris also and it was fantastic. Great healthy, vegan style meals.

  2. February 14, 2010 6:20 pm

    If you had asked earlier I may have but I don’t have the time now. What’s it a 10-12 hour drive from here 🙂
    Looking forward to seeing your trip posts.

    • February 14, 2010 8:34 pm

      Well, first I have to fly 6 hours to San Fran from DC. 😉

  3. February 14, 2010 7:34 pm

    that quiche looks pretty tasty!

  4. February 14, 2010 7:43 pm

    oh i really hope you score a seat with nobody next to you, that’d be great! wow your service today must have been very powerful with the mayor from haiti…intense. i can’t wait to see your packing tricks 🙂

  5. February 14, 2010 7:43 pm

    oh and i love that restaurant! i went to one in nyc and it was so much fun, had great menu items!

  6. February 14, 2010 8:20 pm

    I love that restaurant. The jam is so good.

    You must be getting really excited for your trip!

  7. louisianagrown permalink
    February 14, 2010 8:31 pm

    Hope you travel safely tomorrow, and I can’t wait to keep up with all of the fun you’re going to have in Australia!

  8. Shari permalink
    February 14, 2010 8:51 pm

    Have a safe trip! I can’t wait to hear all about it via your blog! 🙂

  9. Danielle permalink
    February 14, 2010 9:10 pm

    That quiche looks amazinggg (I wish we had those types of cafes at school)

    Have a safe trip 😀

  10. February 14, 2010 9:27 pm

    I wish we had a neat restaurant like that near me… Looks delicious! Wouldn’t that be LOVELY to have an empty seat next to you… When I flew with my daughter I literally prayed for an empty seat so she wouldn’t have to sit on my lap the whole time. God listened. 🙂

  11. February 14, 2010 9:29 pm

    Yum! Vegan quiche!

    I am excited to see tomorrow’s how-to post!

  12. February 14, 2010 11:52 pm

    I love Le Pain! We have one near my house and I go there just to drink coffee and eat their version of Nutella. So delicious.

    I hope you have a good flight and an empty seat!

  13. February 14, 2010 11:59 pm

    The quiche looks amazing! I can’t imagine being gone for two months. Have a wonderful, safe trip!

  14. February 15, 2010 12:48 am

    Vegan quiche? I’ve always wondered how to make that, especially when I wasn’t eating eggs! That looks great. Have a great trip!

  15. February 15, 2010 10:04 am

    Hey! I also go to Foundry UMC…it just happens to be in another city, LOL. 🙂

  16. simone permalink
    February 17, 2010 4:49 pm

    so bummed i missed it 😦

Trackbacks

  1. L'église, le brunch, les horaires surchargés

Leave a Reply

