Skip to content

Sister, sister

February 11, 2010

Did anyone else love that show in the 90s? I’m surprised reruns don’t air on ABC Family… or maybe they do and I’m just totally out of the loop!

So you know you’re going stir-crazy when it finally stops snowing and you jump at the chance to get outside and shovel. I never thought I’d be eager to shovel snow.

My sister straightened her hair and put on makeup to shovel. I threw my hair into a ponytail, piled on layers of crappy sweats and haven’t bothered with makeup since Monday.

Oh, the differences between siblings!

Some sisters are so similar it’s scary. Others are like chalk and cheese (my favorite English expression because it just doesn’t make sense!).

Photo op #1: Our annual holiday tea time at the Ritz. Kate went for her chocolate-covered strawberry like a Victoria’s Secret wannabe. I dove into mine like the chocolate addict that I am. 😉

Photo op #2: I’m absorbed in a cup of tea, Kate’s cheesing it up for the camera.

Photo op #3: Well, at least we’re both smiling.

Some people think Kate and I look a lot alike; we don’t see the resemblence at all! What do you think? Sisters?

Do you have siblings? Do you look similar?

Okay, enough of the snow, ice and cold. Later this afternoon, I have a post lined up that’s full of sunshine, tropical weather and palm trees. Promise! 😀

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 9:44 am

    You and your sister are absolutely gorgeous! You look similar enough that I would guess you are siblings.

    I have a sister but look nothing like her!

  2. sofia permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:57 am

    Great photos! I love that saying “chalk and cheese”. Never heard that before.

    In college one of my best friends and I were often asked if we were sisters. That was funny because I am dark haired, with olive skin and brown eyes, while she is a blue eyed blonde. But I guess our faces, curly hair and body types looked very similar.

  3. February 11, 2010 10:40 am

    Haha, my sister and I have some similarities but a few differences too. I think the older we get the more similar we are if that makes sense. I will say- NEITHER of us would ever put on make up to shovel snow…haha, that’s like putting on make up to go tot he gym to me.

    I can’t imagine being excited about shoveling! You must be really stir crazy 🙂

  4. Susan permalink
    February 11, 2010 10:53 am

    Haha, I never watched Sister Sister but for some reason I remember the theme song quite well. What up with that?

    You and your sis are too cute! This only child is a tinge jelly!

  5. February 11, 2010 11:05 am

    so fun to see you two getting along so well!

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:08 am

    wow what a beautiful sibling duo! looks like you guys have so much fun together. i can definitely see the resemblance but i think it’s more oyur hair than anything else 🙂 i LOVE sister sister, wasn’t it on disney though?

  7. February 11, 2010 11:19 am

    You two are so adorable! And strikingly similar-looking, besides the hair.

    I have three younger sisters and look a lot like the one after me–some people even get us confused if we have the same hair length! I think that it’s hard to see such similarities when you grow up around someone (and obviously see yourself all the time), which is why it’s so odd when people point it out.

    PS–my sister would DEF be straightening her hair and putting on makeup before shoveling snow.

    • February 11, 2010 4:00 pm

      That’s a good point — if you see someone every day, it’s hard to notice details that are obvious to everyone else.

  8. Danielle permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:22 am

    Yes, I remember that show! I think it still plays on Disney Channel? I sort of gave up on nice hair and make-up in this weather lol

    I have 2 younger brothers and we look nothing alike!

  9. February 11, 2010 12:38 pm

    There are few musical pieces in the world that rival that of the “Sister Sister” theme! I’m so glad you reminded me of that and now I will proceed to sing it all day long. You and your sister do look alike- both so beautiful!
    I really enjoy your blog!
    Andrea

    • February 11, 2010 4:03 pm

      You’re too sweet — thank you! The theme song is stuck in my head now, too.

  10. February 11, 2010 2:21 pm

    I didn’t care for Sister, Sister, but I loved Jackee in 227.

    I am giggling about your sister doing her hair and makeup before shoveling snow. My hair is usually is a really tight bun underneath the hood of my coat so it doesn’t fall out while I’m shoveling.

    I have one sibling, a brother, and I think we definitely look related. Not everyone sees it, though.

  11. prettytimepiece permalink
    February 11, 2010 3:29 pm

    lolll i totally remember Sister, Sister! & Smart Guy, Boy Meets World, all those 90’s Disney shows 😛

    you & your sis are so pretty and cute together! & isn’t all this snow so crazy… who DIDN’T get buried?!

    I’m an only child.

    http://www.prettytimepiece.org

  12. louisianagrown permalink
    February 11, 2010 4:38 pm

    I think the two of you definitely look related. Most people think my sister and I are identical, but we don’t see it either.

  13. February 12, 2010 11:50 am

    oh just seeing “jackee” made me crack up!

    i have two sisters. kellie and i look alike, but couldn’t be more different in personality (well, and really everything else… politics, hobbies, etc). my oldest sister dawn and i do not look alike, but are VERY close, and very similar in personality.

    odd how that happens…

Trackbacks

  1. Oh, to be on the islands «

Leave a Reply

