Skip to content

Cookbooks galore!

February 10, 2010

I love how many people said they blog from bed! We had new floors put in recently and for the week they were here, I had to work from my bedroom since downstairs was covered in sawdust and noisy. There’s no desk up there so for a week, my bed became my office!

It was also pretty cool that there are other Travel Channel host wannabes out there. πŸ˜€Β  It had totally slipped my mine until last night that in high school, my senior superlative was “Next Anchor of the Today Show.” Did you do superlatives at your school? Did you get one? You know, “Most Likely to Succeed,” “Best Dressed,” “Most Likely to End Up in Prison”…. Anchoring CNN or “Good Morning America” (I’ve always been Team Diane, not Team Katie πŸ˜‰ ) was the dream until travel became life’s passion.

Travel, that is, and food. Is there anything better?

Saturday was the first time in 30 years that the postal service didn’t deliver mail in the DC region and today there’s no mail again — no one should be on the roads in these conditions. Although we HAVE received The Washington Post every single day of this blizzard, including today when visibility was about 10 feet. Major points to the delivery man!

The poor tree in my backyard. The bird feeder is buried, too.

There's supposed to be a white picket fence in front of the house but today... not so much!

Back when they were still delivering mail, this showed up on my front steps.

What is it?

Ooooh!

Books! I am a big reader — one of the highlights of moving back to America was having a public library again — so getting an Amazon gift card was really exciting. Rather than buy a book I might read once or twice, I decided to get a few that would be great bookshelf staples for years to come.

I’ve seen Eat, Drink & Be Vegan all around the blog world and even though I’m not vegan, decided to give it a whirl. The recipes all sound amazing. Plus, I love that the entire thing grew out of a blog!

I was really looking for a Mediterranean vegetarian cookbook but this one got great reviews and combines the best of Greek, Lebanese, Italian and other countries with delicious food. We all know I’m a hummus fiend!

Okay, I love the entire Sedaris family. David cracks me up both in his books and on NPR and Amy, while totally crazy, is equally hilarious. If you’ve never seen one of her talk show interviews, go to YouTube immediately. Hours of fun right there.

This was really the random purchase.You know when you have a gift card and you want to get the total value by spending every penny of it? (No, that’s just me?) So I had a couple dollars left and saw some good reviews of this tiny cookbook. Some of the recipes are ridiculously basic — spaghetti, anyone? — but others are more creative and if nothing else, it’s a good simple cookbook to have around.

What’s your favorite cookbook?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. simone permalink
    February 10, 2010 3:14 pm

    I need to borrow the amy sedaris! ive been wanting to get it

    • February 10, 2010 3:19 pm

      Maybe it was you who mentioned it recently and put it into my mind…

      If we can ever escape our houses and get together, you can totally borrow. πŸ™‚

  2. February 10, 2010 3:32 pm

    I haven’t found a cookbook I haven’t liked. I really like old cookbooks (not so much the church ones). I’m going to visit the used book store this week to see if they have any new cookbooks.

  3. sofia permalink
    February 10, 2010 4:44 pm

    I can relate. I was so happy this past weekend to find a hardcover copy of Martha Rose Shulman’s “Mediterranean Light” cookbook at a used book store. The cookbook is from the late 1980’s.

  4. February 10, 2010 4:58 pm

    erin, sheesh dont get lost in that snow!
    well, i have many cookbooks on my amazon wish lists waiting to be mine lol! i really want the fat duck by heston blumenthal, and alineas cookbook. i know they will be my favs if i have em:)

  5. February 10, 2010 5:50 pm

    Did you go to Quince Orchard HS? You look really familiar!

  6. February 10, 2010 5:55 pm

    My favorite cookbook is The Joy of Cooking. My copy was passed down from my grandma to my mom and then to me.

  7. February 10, 2010 7:27 pm

    it’s soo crazy that soo many places have literally shut down on the east coast b/c of the snow! i would love to just stay in for a few days and blog blog blog hehe!! i saw david sedaris live and he was soo funny, i bet amy is just the same!

  8. February 10, 2010 7:41 pm

    Have you read Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris? Some books are funny and you smile when you read them but this one I actually laughed out loud! I was on a plane, many people turned to look at me with a questioning glance.

    I loooove cookbooks! I like sitting in Barnes and Noble and flipping through them! Alice Waters has great cookbooks!

  9. February 10, 2010 7:41 pm

    I have just started cooking again and when I want to challenge myself I just look something up online. Forgot I had a question for your last post. Do you want me to send you a set of snowshoes? πŸ™‚ Can’t believe how much your getting…what’s an average winter for DC?

  10. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 10, 2010 8:01 pm

    omg i really want all of those books, i LOVE readin and cookbooks are so much fun. wow, i’m thoroughly impressed by your newspaper guy, what a badass!

  11. Danielle permalink
    February 10, 2010 8:42 pm

    Awesome cookbooks! I have ED&BV and it’s one of my favorites (make the Super Charge-Me Cookies!)

    • February 10, 2010 9:45 pm

      Those cookies are part of the reason I got the book — everyone keeps making ’em and I want some! πŸ˜€

  12. February 10, 2010 10:48 pm

    WOW what great cookbooks! id love to cook something out of those!! i like hungry girl recipes-bc they are 1 serving

  13. February 10, 2010 11:58 pm

    WOW is all I can say about all the snow you are getting – that is NUTS!!!

    I do not really have a favorite cookbook I like them ALL and I also really like hitting up google for recipes!

  14. jocelynsteiber permalink
    February 11, 2010 12:15 am

    I love amazon….what did I do before I could order online?! Oh yes…i was a child and had no credit card : ) haha

    Enjoy your cook books!!

    xo

    Jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  15. February 11, 2010 8:14 am

    lol– I LOVE that Amy Sedaris book! So funny.

    Veganomicon would be up there for me!

  16. louisianagrown permalink
    February 11, 2010 9:28 am

    I was voted “Most Intelligent” in high school. I’m so proud of my nerdiness. πŸ™‚

    And my favorite cookbooks are the two John Folse ones that we have. He’s a big name down here in LA, and his books are more along the lines of encyclopedias with hundreds of recipes and huge, colorful photos.

  17. February 11, 2010 9:49 am

    I like cookbooks with pictures that have recipes that I’ll actually make. It’s nice to say “I want _____ for dinner, how do I make it?” and then have a cookbook with the exact recipe.
    I like the Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook for general everyday cooking. It’s perfect.

    I just bought the Bread Baker’s Apprentice and read through the techniques. It’s awesome! I’ve made ciabatta and I’ll be posting about it on my blog soon.

  18. vicvickvicky permalink
    February 12, 2010 6:36 am

    I’m sooo jealous! I hate that Amazon takes 1 month to get my order here to Singapore But then I think about the great prices and I’m like yeaa okayyy… πŸ™‚

  19. February 12, 2010 9:10 am

    We are on the same Donna Klein/Sedaris siblings wavelength! I just got DK’s Tropical Vegan Kitchen for Christmas (um, from me for me!) and it’s soo good, I can’t wait to get my paws on the Mediterranean one. I also just finished Me Talk Pretty One Day last night and, sad to be done, went and got out Amy’s book for a bit of re-reading/Sedaris consolation.

    Fave cookbook? Hmmm, would probably bee Moosewood Restaurant New Classics–I’ve had it for eight years, STILL make things from it on a weekly basis, and have yet to try a lot of the recipes in it. It’s the best $25 ever spent on a cookbook πŸ™‚

    • February 12, 2010 12:45 pm

      You’re right, the Moosewood cookbooks are great! So many creative and delicious recipes – and easy. πŸ˜€

  20. February 12, 2010 12:27 pm

    i know i’m totally behind (just resurfacing after a couple crazy weeks), so hopefully my comments on old posts aren’t annoying you…

    mama pea from http://www.peasandthankyou.com recommended ED&BV to me, and i adore it!! i use it more than any other cookbook. you can easily add dairy and/or meat to things if you want… although, there’s no need. her vegan dishes taste great!!

    you need to let me know how the mediterranean vegan cookbook is… it’s intriguing to me.

    • February 12, 2010 12:46 pm

      I won’t be able to cook from it until I get back to the US in April but then I’ll def be trying out recipes from all the new books.

      The food on Mama Pea’s blog always looks yummy. Recipes that would appeal to omnivores, vegetarians & vegans — great!

Leave a Reply

