Skip to content

Blogging space

February 9, 2010

It was fun reading about everyone’s dream jobs this morning — keep ’em coming! Since we’ve now covered what you do (or want to do), how about where you do it?

Where do you blog?

Hi Allie!

Remember this summer when I talked about wanting to be a digital nomad? That’s basically what I’ve been doing since moving back to the US. Most of the time, I work and blog from a big, comfy white chair in my living room.

Every now and then, though, I need to get out. Allie also works from home sometimes so we scheduled a fun “work date” last week. Thanks to laptops and free WiFi, there’s no need to be chained to a desk! ๐Ÿ˜€

The morning started with cafe au lait at Illy Cafe near Dupont Circle.

After lunch, we moved downtown to the Kogod Courtyard, which connects the National Portrait Gallery and the American Art Museum. You get bright natural light and an open, airy environment but it’s warm and comfortable. Such a beautiful place to work!

It’s rare to find a location with free WiFi where you also don’t have to pay for a drink or food.

It was kind of funny to leave the courtyard and walk past priceless, stunning art seen only as a side attraction on the way to the most important destination: the bathroom. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hey, we were there to work, not look at art! You know you’re from DC when you visit museums to use their WiFi, not appreciate the art.

All in all, it was a productive afternoon. We managed to do more working than chatting — always a difficult but good thing — and it was nice to have a buddy rather than just me and my laptop. We’ve already started planning more frequent work dates in the future.

Where do you blog?

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 3:36 pm

    I blog from my big, comfy couch! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. February 9, 2010 4:10 pm

    I love to blog from my bed. It’s the best!

  3. February 9, 2010 4:29 pm

    I usually blog from somewhere in the living room.

  4. February 9, 2010 5:06 pm

    I blog in my “Office,” aka the dining room. But, I sometimes write at The Living Room Cafe with my good friend, Jess. It’s always nice for a change.

  5. February 9, 2010 6:20 pm

    I blog in my kitchen ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have a HUGE laptop which never leaves my house so I definitely can’t be a digital nomad!

  6. February 9, 2010 9:05 pm

    You have a lovely place to blog! I usually blog from my desk…or my bed ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. February 9, 2010 9:10 pm

    I blog from the couch in my living room. Pretty much when I get home from work, I cook, and then am glued to the couch for the rest of the night! It was funny to see that most the other commenters blogged from their couch/bed as well. I think it would be fun to go out to a coffee shop with a friend and blog sometime… I just need to find a friend in town who loves to blog as much as I do haha!!

    • February 9, 2010 10:05 pm

      haha although sometimes when you work with a friend, you end up chatting the afternoon away instead! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. February 9, 2010 9:37 pm

    Haha, wow I just read your comment on my blog and I was like dream jobs were a theme? I didn’t even read your post- we must have had a psychic connection ๐Ÿ™‚ So anyway, since we established I don’t have a dream job- I blog from my couch in front of the TV!

  9. February 9, 2010 9:40 pm

    Okay so I just read your post below again and I decided that what got me thinking about the Samantha Brown thing was reading your “about me” page the other day. I always talk to my fiance about how we wish we had her job. But then again I think about wanting to be home. So you did inspire my post today, thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    It must be weird to be her and have everyone want your job haha. Would make you feel like you could never complain huh? So, where can I find your story about how you used to be an English teacher and decided to stop that? Haha…clearly its the road to my future dreams!

    • February 9, 2010 10:08 pm

      Very cool. ๐Ÿ˜€

      I guess the best summary of my thoughts about teaching English abroad can be found here: http://traveleatrepeat.com/2009/06/21/100-days/

      I loved working overseas and meeting fascinating people. Most of the time, it was a lot of fun working with kids, being active all day and getting paid to basically play around. But teaching is frustrating (as you know!) and it’s even more difficult when the kids don’t speak a word of English.

      If you think you might be interested, I’d be happy to answer any of your questions! It’s def a great way to save money and get paid to travel. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. February 9, 2010 10:14 pm

    I actually find that I write more interesting posts (at least in my opinion) when I write them at work. I feel like I have less distraction. I don’t know what that says about my job!

    Other than that, I normally blog from my dining room table.

  11. Danielle permalink
    February 9, 2010 11:55 pm

    That place is beautiful! I always blog in my room but now I’m starting to think I should venture out! Starbucks maybe? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 10, 2010 7:35 am

      Too bad Starbucks charges for WiFi… definitely see if anywhere near you has it for free. Public libraries are always a great — and free! — option. (free Wifi expert right here haha)

  12. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 10, 2010 12:26 am

    i so wish i lived in DC, what an awesome place! relaly funny about visiting museums for the wifi ๐Ÿ˜‰

  13. joanaaa permalink
    February 10, 2010 7:30 am

    that is seriously my dream, but unfortunately cyber cafรฉs are extremely rare where I live. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    Hopefully when I move to London…

    • February 10, 2010 7:35 am

      Oooh yes, London has TONS of fab places including a lot of their museums! I used to study at the British Museum — amazing place!

  14. February 10, 2010 5:54 pm

    I usually blog from the train. It would be fun to meet up with a friend though!

Trackbacks

  1. Cookbooks galore! «
  2. It’s a great day to be alive «
  3. En plein air «

Leave a Reply

