Skip to content

Super Bowl best and worst

February 8, 2010

Did you watch the Super Bowl last night? We had the game on but I only really paid attention when there was lots of screaming and I figured someone had scored. 😉 It was nice to see the Saints win, though, especially when you see stories about how much it means to the people of New Orleans and how a winning football team has brought hope back to the city.

Let’s face it: a lot of people watch the Super Bowl for the ads, not the athletics. My favorites?

Hands-down, I loved Audi’s “Green Police” commercial. If only it wasn’t advertising a car, it would have been the perfect commercial. I wish there really was an environmental police that fined people for not recycling, drinking from plastic water bottles and not bringing reusable bags to the grocery store!

The other fantastic one was for Google, which doesn’t even need to advertise yet blew everyone else out of the water with its inventive and funny ad.

The worst? Amid the HUGE number of sexist ads, this Charger one about how much men are “forced” to sacrifice for women took the cake.

And the absolute worst was Denny’s commercial that literally said that their egg-laying chickens suffer. Not only does this not make me want to eat at Denny’s, I also don’t want to eat eggs.

What were your favorite and least favorite Super Bowl ads?

Examiner.com: Travel to DC through film, no skis required

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 10:11 am

    Loved the french google one too. It was so cute!

    I’m with you though, I barely watched. I was actually doing yoga with the game on low volume. And every now and then I heard screams from the other room. How zen. 🙂

  2. February 8, 2010 11:16 am

    Though I didn’t see all the ads, I did see the Charger one and I completely agree. So very sexist!! I did love the Bud Light one w/ T-Pain. I’m easily amused. :0)

  3. February 8, 2010 11:59 am

    I was at a party… the game was on… I did not watch any of it… not on purpose.. I was busy chatting up and catching up. We went to our neighbors and they have a cute little boy… she is also pregnant with number 2 and the second one is a boy.. oh and most of her friends were there with a cute baby.. so I was going from baby to baby and didn’t watch the game

  4. February 8, 2010 1:03 pm

    Ok hold up. You can hate dennys, but eggs? Really? I love eggs – especially the farmers market eggs where the chickens are treated right.

    • February 8, 2010 3:38 pm

      Totally agree! The more I learn about factory-farmed eggs, the more sure I am that I *can’t* eat eggs in good conscience until I can afford farmers market/organic. But definitely I love eggs — there’ve been plenty of omelets in this blog haha.

      I was surprised no one at Denny’s realized what the commercial was saying… but then again, my family thought it was fufnny.

  5. February 8, 2010 1:50 pm

    Thanks for the commercial recap–I kept missing all of them!!

  6. February 8, 2010 2:29 pm

    Great blog! And thanks for the recap! Between you and The Today show I’ll get the chance to see them haha!!

  7. EmGusk permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:04 pm

    I didn’t like the Audi one…Police state much???

  8. Danielle permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:45 pm

    I didn’t really watch the superbowl either, but I did catch some of the commercials. I can’t believe the Denny’s one! I feel bad for the chickens 😦

  9. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:48 pm

    thanks for posting the google one, i lost interest about half way through the commercial and started texting so i didn’t see the whole thing but then everyone was talking about it so i felt like i had missed out lol. i’m like you, only really look at the game when everyone starts going apeshit

  10. louisianagrown permalink
    February 8, 2010 8:08 pm

    I only watched parts of the second half, but the best one I saw was the one where the Budweiser Clydesdale and Longhorn bull are best friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

