Skip to content

What are your storm staples?

February 6, 2010

It’s COLD and ICY out there!

We have around 2 feet of snow on the ground and more STILL coming down! After my quick morning update, I spent two hours outside shoveling the front sidewalk and driveway. Definitely today’s work-out — my arms are already a little sore. πŸ˜‰

Even though official estimates say that even many main roads won’t be plowed until tomorrow or Monday, our neighborhood has private contractors plowing the alleys and side streets and thankfully, they’ve already been few quite a few times over the night and today. I’m hoping against hope that the roads are good enough tomorrow to make it out for a Super Bowl party. Please?!

The good news: we still have power!

The bad news: no Internet. For now, I’m just “borrowing” from the neighbors. Sshhhh…

Ever since the storm was announced earlier this week, grocery stores have been packed with people picking up last-minute supplies. Especially last night, there were several stories on the local news about what essentials people bought at the grocery store.

Some you would expect: milk, bread, coffee and eggs.

Others, not as much: one Giant employee said there had been a mad rush on mushrooms. Hmm…

Me:

Oats

Peanut butter

examiner.com

Hummus

Pumpkin bread — I baked two delicious loaves last night.

Homemade hot chocolate, made with vanilla soy milk and Hershey’s cocoa. Warms you from the inside! πŸ˜€

ehow.com

What are your storm staples? Hope you’re staying warm if there’s snow in your area!

21 Comments leave one →
  1. applec permalink
    February 6, 2010 5:31 pm

    I have so much in our pantry, I don’t think there is a storm that could outlast our food supply….better knock on wood!

    Good luck with all that shoveling. Hope the white stuff stops coming down soon. It’s pretty only once then it gets really old.
    Stay warm and enjoy the SB tomorrow. Can’t wait!!!!!

  2. February 6, 2010 7:19 pm

    I made chocolate chip cookies today after I came in from playing. Ahh the beauty of living in an apartment building — no snow to shovel 0:)

  3. February 6, 2010 7:33 pm

    A warm boyfriend! That’s really about it, we have enough staples in the house.

    I guess I’d be worried about toilet paper, and that’s it.

  4. February 6, 2010 8:46 pm

    I like to have lots of soup on hand. The problem is that we have an electric range so you can’t heat it up if the power goes out. Besides that, I’d say fruit, veggies, bread, cheese, milk, deli meat, peanut butter…

  5. February 6, 2010 10:01 pm

    No snow up here in Boston but clearly I’m an expert on this subject. I share a lot of the same staples as you- definitely oatmeal and peanut butter! also bread, tuna for quick sandwiches, greek yogurt, and cheerios.

  6. February 6, 2010 10:40 pm

    WOW that pumpkin bread looks fantastic…i’m definitely a crunchy peanut butter girl too. πŸ™‚ Though i like almond butter, pb is totally my #1. hehehe

  7. February 6, 2010 11:34 pm

    Hmm, I’d say some sort of tortilla or pita and salsa so I could make chips and salsa. Or ice cream. Even if it’s cold, I like ice cream.

    Glad you still have power.

  8. February 7, 2010 12:07 am

    Good thing you still have power! As long as I have oats, hummus, peanut butter, pears, and popcorn I can survive any storm πŸ™‚ And maybe some chili for the superbowl tomorrow. Definitely check out Cava Mezze hummus-it’s made locally in Rockville and it tastes fantastic. I’ve never tried Lebanese Taverna’s hummus but I’ve heard good things. Chix has a fantastic black bean hummus that I’ve been unsuccessful in recreating.

  9. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:54 am

    seems like you’re making do just fine on the food front, that pumpkin bread looks sooo good! and you can never go wrong with hummus, ever.

  10. Danielle permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:59 am

    Thanks so much for your comment πŸ™‚
    A mad rush on mushrooms? lol I’d go for the almond milk, bread, and veggies

  11. February 7, 2010 1:53 am

    I love hot chocolate, soups, and chili when it’s storming outside as well as steaming coffee and oats in the AM!

  12. February 7, 2010 5:35 am

    My village got snowed in in January – we had enough food to keep us going for quite a while, but we ran out of fresh vegetables. So I would say that frozen veg would be one important staple for us to keep our diet varied after the fresh veg runs out!

    • February 7, 2010 12:15 pm

      Good call on the frozen veg! We’re almost out of fresh veggies here but luckily it showed be plowed enough by tomorrow to get to the store. πŸ™‚

  13. February 7, 2010 8:04 am

    yum! great foods! I’d probably go with something similar and add apples!

  14. February 7, 2010 10:36 am

    storm staples? Hot coffee, tea, PB, oatmeal and greek yog I think I would be set for a few days LOL

    try copying and pasting this into your reader to get updates!!

    http://www.onefitfoodie.com/feeds/posts/default

    • February 7, 2010 12:19 pm

      Nope, it’s so strange. The most recent posts shows up as October 20! Ah well, you’re bookmarked. πŸ™‚

  15. February 7, 2010 11:40 am

    hot chocolate and baking are such classic snowed in staples! i also love roasted vegetables, a long classic old movie, and a blanket on the couch. turning on the oven and filling my apartment with good smells makes any day warmer!

  16. Susan permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:09 pm

    My storm staples are the same as yours – add some bean or lentil soup and I’m golden!!!

  17. February 7, 2010 9:52 pm

    Walmart did a study one time on the food item that most people buy to stock up for a storm. It was Pop-Tarts. Makes sense I suppose. If the electric goes out, they don’t have to be heated.

    For me, I was already stocked up, but I had Larabars, Soup at Hand, chickpeas, English muffins, rice, and veggie burgers. If I need more bread, I discovered some beer bread boxes in my pantry!

  18. February 9, 2010 10:32 pm

    i’m eating that hummus as I type! just got it at costco last weekend and have been eating it every day since, paired with toasted garlic bread, YUM!

Trackbacks

  1. A simple snowy stir-fry «

Leave a Reply

