Skip to content

Bars ‘n’ beats

February 1, 2010

No, not this kind of bar:

Oh, college memories...

THIS kind of bar:

With two weeks to go before leaving for Down Under, I’ve started thinking about packing and one of the things I’m taking is some snacks. Not an entire cupboard but I’m a big eater and, as I remember, food is EXPENSIVE in Australia. Solution: bring snacks!

Which brings me to this: Do you have a favorite bar? I picked up some Clif bars (always good) and a box of the delicious Kashi pumpkin spice flax bars. What do you recommend? I’d love to try something new and do a little comparison of what tastes best and what keeps me full longest. Suggestions, please!

As long as you’re helping me out… my poor iPod hasn’t seen new music in months and I want to upload some fresh tunes before setting out. What are you currently rocking out to? I like a range of music but mostly find myself loving a mix of country, singer-songwriters and pop. Not too into rap/hip-hop/heavy metal.

Recently, I’ve been listening to a lot of Kate Rusby, Matt Nathanson, Keith Urban and The Swell Season. The top songs on my workout playlist: Kelly Clarkson’s “My Life Would Suck Without You,” Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” and the Black Eyes Peas’ “I Gotta Feeling.” Oh, and some K-Pop (thank you, Korea.) I am so not hip.  😉

Hope everyone had a fantastic weekend! 😀

Examiner.com: Special ways to celebrate Valentine’s Day in DC

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    February 1, 2010 9:37 am

    I’m so jealous your going to Australia! My favorite bars are: Cliff Z Bars, Odawalla bars, and Larabars.

    Usually, I go on iTunes and they have work-out playlists that other people have uploaded and I get music inspiration from there!

  2. February 1, 2010 9:51 am

    I love Clif bars! There is a chocolate mint one that is REALLY good

  3. February 1, 2010 10:49 am

    I like larabars too. They have less protein than Clif bars so they’re not as filling, but they’re a good snack. They’re basically just made of dried fruit and nuts.

    You can try making some protein bars at home too. It’s way cheaper.

    • February 1, 2010 2:41 pm

      I’ve heard that! Was thinking they might not keep well over a couple months of travel… no? Never tried to make them!

  4. February 1, 2010 1:01 pm

    I love Luna and Odwalla 🙂 I have not tried Clif!

    I am into hip-hop so I guess my playlist won’t help!

  5. February 1, 2010 1:14 pm

    Falling Slowly by the Swell Season is going to be our first dance song!

    I have a lot of singer-songwriter stuff on itunes at home. I can email you a playlist later this evening with some suggestions.

    • February 1, 2010 2:42 pm

      That would be awesome, thank you! 😀 Great first dance song, too. I cried seeing them in person. 😳

  6. February 1, 2010 1:16 pm

    Hahaha oh man seeing that picture Bents just cracked me up.

  7. February 1, 2010 1:17 pm

    Crap did it again. Commented with the wrong ID.

  8. February 1, 2010 1:29 pm

    I just got some Mrs. May’s Trio Natural Bars at Costco. They are sooooooo good! I love nuts though….

    Yum Yum

  9. February 1, 2010 1:44 pm

    I love Luna bars… I always have… yum 🙂

  10. Kristin permalink
    February 1, 2010 6:08 pm

    My favorite bars are Luna’s chocolate peppermint (they really wake me up!) and Larabar’s cashew cookie and banana bread. For having only a few ingredients they are AWESOME! I eat Luna bars when I need a really filling almost-meal-to-hold-me-over and I eat Larabars when I need a mid-morning snack.

    Also, I just bought songs by Joshua Radin and Sean Fournier yesterday and am loving them! If you like Matt Nathanson you will most likely also love Mat Kearney–have you heard him too?

    Kristin

    • February 1, 2010 8:13 pm

      I do like Mat Kearney but never heard of Sean Fournier — definitely look him up on iTunes. Thank you! 🙂

  11. February 1, 2010 10:01 pm

    My favorite bar of all time is the Cliff Crunchy Peanut Butter bar. I eat that like it’s candy! Delish.

    Right now, during runs I’m listening to a lot of Lady Gaga but I am also loving Zee Avi and Ray LaMontagne.

  12. February 2, 2010 1:13 am

    Have you tried Lara bars? They are pure and wonderful. Their ingredient list contains nothing but dried fruits and nuts – thats it. I LOVE a good ingredient list. I also love the taste and find that they are pretty filling. I eat them for breakfast/snack/dessert. Peanut butter cookie, chocolate coconut and banana bread are my favs.

    • February 2, 2010 9:37 am

      I’ve heard they’re good but aren’t they $$$?

Trackbacks

  1. Get KINDed «
  2. Packing like a pro «
  3. Tsunami, tsunam-you «
  4. Honey, it’s my first giveaway! «

Leave a Reply

