Skip to content

My Chipotle ’tis of thee

January 27, 2010

We’ve discussed the fact that I’m obsessed with Mexican food so it should come as no surprise that Chipotle is my go-to spot for a quick meal.

Now, just thinking about most fast food Mexican — *cough* Taco Bell *cough* — makes me cringe. (People are always shocked when I recite the litany of fast food joints I’ve thankfully never eaten at: Taco Bell, Popeyes, KFC, Arby’s…)

But Chipotle is different. Or at least it is in my head, so don’t spoil the illusion! 😉 The ingredients seem fresh, your meal created right in front of you (major points) and each order is custom-made.

There’s been a lot said about the large number of calories in Chipotle but an informed consumer should know that some foods are inherently more caloric than others and be capable of making smart decisions. Also, when eaten in the context of an otherwise really healthy diet, what’s wrong with a giant burrito bol now and then? (Answer: nothing.)

The great thing about Chipotle is that you can make any combination. What do I get?

Rice, black beans, fajita vegetables (peppers and onions), tomatoes, corn, medium and hot salsa, lettuce and guacamole. Mmmmmm!

This keeps me full for HOURS — I don’t even need the usual 3:00 snack — and keeps me happy for even longer. 🙂

Chipotlefan.com — required reading for a true Chipotle-ite — has a handy nutrition calculator so you can check out the damage before you dig in. That giant bowl of Mexican deliciousness? 580 calories. 20 g of fat. Way too much sodium (2380 mg). 19 g of protein!

580 calories for a meal that covers not just lunch but also mid-afternoon snack = not bad at all. It’s high in fat and sodium but packed with protein and dietary fiber.

Not eating a tortilla helps shave 290 calories off the total, as does omitting sour cream, cheese and meat. But each person is different. Just make sure mine is topped with a huge scoop of guacamole.

And for full disclosure: My friends and I were huge Chipotle fiends in college, too, when we regularly ate a full burrito (tortilla and all) and washed it down with a bowl of Coldstone. How we weren’t all 500 pounds, I’ll never know… 😳

How does your Chipotle creation rate?

Examiner.com: Where in Washington to watch tonight’s State of the Union

32 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 9:36 am

    how is it that we cannot eat and drink like we used to in college? and stay super thin?

    LIFE ISN’T FAIRRRRRRR

    • January 27, 2010 9:42 am

      When you figure out the secret, let me know…

  2. January 27, 2010 11:29 am

    I only recently discovered Chipotle and totally love it!

  3. January 27, 2010 1:17 pm

    I am proud to say I was one of those lovely Chipotle/Coldstone fiends! Chipotle is amazing, and I’m glad you mentioned the nutrition calendar.

    My favorite burrito:

    black beans
    lettuce
    cheese
    mild salsa
    guacamole
    sour cream (sometimes)

    MMM I am getting hungry. Thank god I have a huge italian cheesy sandwich in the fridge.

  4. January 27, 2010 1:36 pm

    OH man. I love when other bloggers talk about Chipotle. It makes me feel better about my frequent cravings. In my head, too, it’s healthier than Taco Bell. There’s a fairly good chance that’s just in my head. I don’t care. 😀

    • January 27, 2010 2:40 pm

      As Anthony Bourdain says, “If it tastes good, eat it!” 😉

  5. January 27, 2010 2:19 pm

    I love a place called Moe’s which is like Chiptole! chipotle is owned by mcdonalds, did ya know that?

  6. January 27, 2010 5:28 pm

    I just tried Chipotle for the first time recently. I ordered what you had, which I think is pretty much everything single vegan option they have.

    It was so good. I really love any form of mexican food, but if you throw guac in there, it takes me to the moon.

  7. January 27, 2010 5:29 pm

    Oh you and your 3 p.m. snack. Too cute, Rubes.

  8. January 27, 2010 5:50 pm

    I love that Chipotle is trying to be organic too, grass feed meat. They actually promoted that movie Food, Inc. this summer because they believed it so much.

    I think my burrito would be 1000 cal. But that is what I expect from a burrito!

    • January 27, 2010 6:52 pm

      I didn’t know they promoted Food, Inc. How cool!

  9. January 27, 2010 7:22 pm

    Well, looks like you’re ahead of everyone on Chipotle. Oprah had the owner on today after she interviewed Michael Pollan from Food, Inc. Looks like Chipotle is the only approved fast food out there. I personally love it!

    • January 28, 2010 12:54 pm

      Thanks for the heads-up on this! I totally missed it but managed to record the repeat last night. 🙂

  10. January 27, 2010 7:39 pm

    We have a place called Willy’s which is pretty much the same as Chipotle. I always get a salad with:
    black beans
    lettuce
    salsa
    tofu
    roasted red peppers
    cucumbers
    olives
    and sometimes guac when I’m feeling extra fancy.

    It’s pretty much the best lunch ever.

  11. January 27, 2010 8:23 pm

    I absolutely LOVE Mexican food too!!!!

    Interestingly enough, I just made Black Bean Soup with Chipotle Peppers and Avocado this week. It is seriously one of the best soups I have EVER had. We have made it for many dinner guests, and every one of them has asked for the recipe!!!

    You can find the recipe here:

    http://everydayfoodiecanada.blogspot.com/2010/01/snow-day-well-kind-of.html

    Jolene

  12. January 27, 2010 8:57 pm

    For some reason I just can’t get that into chipotle. I feel like I should just go to an “authentic” place, since I live in New York. But your bowl does sound yummy 🙂

    • January 28, 2010 12:55 pm

      I agree, an “authentic” place is always going to be good. But those are seriously lacking here in DC. 😦

      (My Houston-based aunt brags about all the great Mexican they have down there…)

  13. January 27, 2010 9:57 pm

    you took my burrito combo right out of my mouth! I don’t live near a Chipolte anymore, but always hit it up when I visit my mom….I agree, it may be bad for you, but it’s all about balance….

  14. January 27, 2010 10:20 pm

    Hey!
    I just came across your blog and I can’t wait to read it and follow!
    I would love it if you could check out mine and follow:)
    Jenna

  15. January 28, 2010 1:18 am

    I want to you know that I had chipotle for dinner tonight and I find the fact that you have blogged all about chipotle a very crazy coincidence!

    I am also a VERY big fan.

  16. January 28, 2010 8:46 am

    sigh- no chipotle in Canada other than Toronto 😦 Maybe they’ll expand in Canada soon. It all looks delicious. Plus they used to sponsor my favourite biking team 🙂

    • January 28, 2010 12:59 pm

      I talked up Chipotle so much to some Vancouver-based friends that when they went to Seattle to visit other friends, they made sure to try it. The verdict? Love! 😀

  17. January 28, 2010 9:17 am

    My first Chipotle experience was in CP and I wasn’t a huge fan, but the Coldstone, yea I hit that up plenty of times.

    • January 28, 2010 1:00 pm

      Chipotle and Coldstone is how we roll in CP…

  18. Susan permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:27 am

    Ooh it’s been far too long since I’ve been to Chipotle! I think if you eat healthy at home, it’s okay to splurge a little when you eat out ; )

Trackbacks

  1. The secret to a happy life: hummus «
  2. ¡Feliz Cinco de Mayo! «
  3. Are there good chain restaurants? «
  4. French cafe life «
  5. Unplugged «

Leave a Reply

