Skip to content

The Clean Plate Club at Parker’s

January 24, 2010

Is there anyone who doesn’t like brunch?

How could you not? It’s a combination of breakfast and lunch — the best of both worlds!

Confession: I’m a brunch cheater. I don’t understand people who show up at a 11 or 12:00 brunch and haven’t eaten anything yet; eating breakfast is the reason I get out of bed, so brunch is really more of an early lunch or breakfast part 2 for me, but that’s just a technicality. πŸ˜‰

My friend Erin and I have a lot in common: obviously the same name, we were baptized at the same church, have identical freckles on our hands and birthdays two days apart. We call ourselves “birthday twins!”

Birthday twin

Having birthdays so close together (mine January 22, hers January 24) means we can celebrate our big days at the same time. Our best friends from college (all former roommates) converged in Bethesda for a lazy Saturday brunch at Parker’s.

The restaurant is decorated with vintage sports pictures from the University of Maryland and other Washington sports teams. As Terps, we loved the old Maryland Homecoming poster!

It was everyone’s first time at Parker’s but after checking out the Southern-leaning menu online, this was clearly a winner. Even before getting there I knew what I wanted: the egg white omelet.

First, though, came these huge, fluffy, buttery biscuits. Yum!

Shots of everyone else’s food:

And my delicious omelet, topped with salsa and served with home fries. I ate every single bit, minus a potato or two. (What else is new? I’m a member of the Clean Plate Club!)

I liked that the omelet was packed with vegetables and not just a few mixed in with mounds of egg. It tasted fresh and healthy.

We were all impressed by the service — our waiter was friendly, knowledgeable and made extra effort to make us happy. When he overheard a friend jokingly say she’d pass out without some fruit, he brought over a little plate of fresh fruit. It’s the extra touch that can make a difference.

Of course, I managed to force some of the cupcakes off on the girls. Didn’t have to “force” very hard, either…

It was definitely fun to spend a few hours chatting the early afternoon away with friends who came from different cities and aren’t always here. It’s hard to believe that we’ve been out of college for nearly two years (since May 2008). Where does the time go?!

Breakfast? Brunch? Lunch? Which do you prefer? I’ll take all three, please!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jacquie permalink
    January 24, 2010 11:56 am

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE brunch! Every weekend, I’m definitely a brunch, snack, dinner girl because I wait all week so I can do brunch on the weekend. Yup, I’m a dork πŸ™‚

  2. January 24, 2010 2:15 pm

    I am a breakfast fanatic! I love waffles, eggs, oatmeal, grits, pancakes, french toast, bacon, syrup, cereal, hashbrowns… OMG need I go on?! I could eat it for every meal of the day πŸ™‚ Your omelet looks awesome! Maybe that’s what I’ll do for dinner!

  3. January 24, 2010 2:45 pm

    What a fun brunch! I do love brunch food. Especially fresh fruit!

    Yum, homemade cupcakes!

  4. January 24, 2010 4:12 pm

    Looks like you have a great time! It’s 1:11pm here right now and I’m wondering if I can pretend it’s earlier and have a yummy BRUNCH. πŸ˜‰

    Happy Belated birthday to you and your “twin”

    • January 24, 2010 9:09 pm

      Thank you for the birthday wishes! πŸ™‚

  5. January 24, 2010 7:59 pm

    hey erin!

    i stumbled on your blog a little bit ago, and as a fellow brunch lover, i thought i’d finally say HI!

    i love the vibe of your blog, and the varying topics you bring to the “table”… i’m really jealous of all your travels!! and i’m excited to follow your journey!

    happy belated birthday!!!!!!!

    • January 24, 2010 9:10 pm

      Thanks Susan. I’m glad you enjoy the blog! “See” you around. πŸ˜‰

  6. January 24, 2010 9:58 pm

    I’m one of those weird people that try to order from the lunch menu at brunch! I just prefer lunch foods.

  7. January 25, 2010 8:35 am

    Happy belated birthday!!! One of my bffs and I have the same birthday too…it makes it that much more special (and easier for all our other friends to remember!!) πŸ™‚

    That brunch looks delicious!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Members of the Clean Plate Club Β« -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

