Skip to content

Happy birthday to me!

January 22, 2010

January 22, 1986 was a special day. The skies were blue, the temperature hovered near 70* and Ronald Reagan sent a letter congratulating my birth. (The letter, although framed, sits in a box in the basement. We’re not really a Reagan family. 😉 )

24 years later, I’m still in Washington — did you know that 40% of DC residents were actually born in the city and I’m repping George Washington Hospital? — although in the suburbs, the skies are more grey than blue, the temperature is below freezing and… I’m still waiting for my Presidential shout-out.

Last year, I rang in the big 2-3 in Chiang Mai, Thailand. We arrived from Seoul early in the evening and immediately set out to find good food and cold drinks.

Long day of travel. Tired. Adjusting from 20* in Seoul to 80* in Thailand. But happy.

Successful on all counts, for sure. This cute restaurant was tucked in a shopping center away from Chiang Mai’s main drag and had picnic benches scattered throughout a leafy courtyard, with twinkling white lights dangling from the branches.

It’s hard to say whether my 23rd birthday curry was the best of the entire trip but in my memory, it totally is. First meal in Thailand, especially after four long months eating a pork, kimchi and rice diet (obviously before my vegetarian days), and it was pretty phenomenal.

Is there a better food than fresh green curry? That’s debatable.

So that birthday celebration is pretty hard to top. There was nothing wild, no crazy party, just dinner with two good friends in a foreign country but it definitely goes down as one of my most memorable parties.

This year, I’m home and celebrating 24 with friends and family. It’s a weekend of get-togethers, including reunions with friends living around the country, and trying a few new restaurants. Be sure to keep checking back this weekend for updates on all the sure-to-be-delicious food and fun times!

23 was an incredible year. I met so many wonderful people, visited several new countries (and even a new continent!) and learned a lot about nutrition and health, discovering a passion for it I never knew existed. It was a year of leaving my first post-college job and coming home to face temporary unemployment, but also a year in which I grew mentally and spiritually too much to measure. I can’t wait to see what 24 has to offer!

What was your most memorable birthday?

Examiner.com: This weekend in Washington

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 9:21 am

    Happy Birthday, Erin! Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Shari permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:29 am

    Happy Birthday, Erin!! I hope it’s a fantastic one!! 🙂

  3. Dad permalink
    January 22, 2010 1:09 pm

    Happy 24th!

    Love, Dad

  4. Jacquie permalink
    January 22, 2010 3:50 pm

    Happy Birthday! Have fabulous weekend in our great city 🙂

    • January 22, 2010 5:51 pm

      Every weekend is a good weekend in this city. 😀 Thanks!

  5. January 22, 2010 3:55 pm

    my most memorable birthday was when i turned 20. my kind-of-recent-but-totally-serious boyfriend (now husband…), my sister, my parents, and i all went out to a fondue restaurant. the whole meal took 3 hours. it was fabulous. it let my family get to know olli much better in a really relaxing, natural way. plus chocolate fondue is to die for.

    hope your 24th is everything you want it to be!

  6. January 22, 2010 4:53 pm

    Happy Birthday! 🙂 Sounds like you have a fab weekend planned!

    My most memorable birthday was actually last year. I got to hang out at the beach all day and LOVED it!

    • January 22, 2010 5:52 pm

      What a great way to celebrate! Thank you! 😀

  7. January 22, 2010 5:57 pm

    Happy Birthday!

  8. January 22, 2010 6:43 pm

    Happy birthday!!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention http://traveleatrepeat.com/2010/01/22/happy-birthday-to-me/ -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

