Skip to content

Gym rat

January 21, 2010

I never thought I’d say this but I actually like going to the gym!

Who am I?!

In college, we had a free gym on campus that I probably went to twice a semester. When I lived in an apartment off-campus, there was a tiny fitness room on the ground level that I went to a little more often but not with any regularity. It’s much more fun being outside in the fresh air and sunshine and not stuck inside a stinky and always over-heated gym.

But the freezing winter weather and availability of free gym in my mom’s neighborhood has suddenly turned me into a regular gym-goer. It can’t compare to being outside but, all things considered, it’s not terrible. Especially when you consider that since I work from home for now, a super-flexible schedule allows me to go to the gym in the middle of the day when no one is there.

No waiting for machines, no annoying people talking loudly, no feeling judged because you’re the world’s slowest runner/cycler/elliptical-er or because you can only lift the baby-sized weights. It’s kind of peaceful.

I don’t think I’ll pay to join a gym when I move into a new place this summer — especially during warmer months when there are so many hours of daylight, it seems like a waste of money. But for now, it’s nice to have because in a few weeks, I’ll be back into summer (hello, Southern Hemisphere!).

Going to the gym: yea or nay?

—–

Random, but have you seen this hilarious Conan clip where he gets a little revenge on NBC by blowing $1.5 million on a mouse-eared car? Leno is one of the LEAST funny people on TV — big mistake, NBC.

Examiner.com: Make plans for Groundhog Day in Punxsutawney

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    January 21, 2010 10:13 am

    I’d have to agree… getting the gym is the hardest part but once I’m there and after I’m done working out I always feel so happy that I went.

    • January 21, 2010 12:04 pm

      Agreed! It’s hard to get motivated, for sure, but once you’re there… you might as well stay. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Vegetable Matter permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:20 am

    I haven’t been to the gym in years. My boys play tennis at a club that has exercise equipment, and I stare at it every day while I wait for them to finish. It’s kind of tempting. Kind of. For now my only exercise is gardening.

  3. January 21, 2010 11:27 am

    i used to always be at the gym…now im just too busy..excuses i know:(

  4. Mindy permalink
    January 21, 2010 11:52 am

    Like most people, I’ve had an on-again, off-again relationship with the gym. Right now, we are currently dating and I love it!

    Actually, I hate it. I hate the idea of working a long, busy day and then getting my lazy bum in there. But once I start breaking a sweat and the endorphins start creeping in, I feel GREAT!

    I do agree that nothing compares to being active outside. Since it’s so nice in AZ right now, I like to go hiking every weekend.

    p.s. is this a new blog?

    • January 21, 2010 12:03 pm

      Jealous of your AZ weather! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Not a “new” blog but I upgraded to my own domain on WordPress — all the content is here now. Goodbye, .blogspot.com.

  5. Jacquie permalink
    January 21, 2010 1:51 pm

    Nay! I only went to the gym when I was sick (before I was an avid dancer) so I have bad memories. I stick to yoga or swimming or just doing anything outside ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. January 21, 2010 3:21 pm

    I like having my gym membership to go to Spinning classes and do weight training a few times a week, but the other days I prefer to run outside…the treadmill is NOT my friend! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • January 21, 2010 3:45 pm

      I get SO bored on the treadmill, staring at the same scenery. Blah. (Maybe if it was a “fancy” gym with personal TVs… ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

  7. January 21, 2010 5:09 pm

    For me, it’s all about the seasons– in the nice weather, I’m all about being outside, but once it gets cold up here in Pennsylvania, you have to drag me outside for my workout! I much prefer the comfort of a gym from about November to March.

  8. January 21, 2010 6:54 pm

    I love exercising outside the most (running, biking, kayaking, ect). However, I used to live in DC too and I remember it getting very cold during those jan/feb months. Sometimes the gym is the best the option (when it is cold/raining/snowing). I also really enjoy group classes at the gym (step, zumba, body pump).

  9. January 22, 2010 1:38 am

    Nay nay nay! I just like running outside. That is why I ran away to SoCal. Except for some reason, the DC rain has followed me to the west coast and it has been raining for 7 days straight. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  10. January 22, 2010 4:53 pm

    I am totally gym yea! I love that they have all the strength machines! And I love it when I get it to myself, like you do!

    Of course, I prefer running outside, but the gym does it for now!

Leave a Reply

