Skip to content

Breakfast treat

January 14, 2010

Six mornings out of seven, a big bowl of oatmeal hits the spot.

Unlike some creative types, I make my oats the exact same way every morning: 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats, 2/3 cup water, 1 banana, a tablespoon of ground flax and a big spoonful of peanut butter plopped in at the end. Yum, yum, yum.

But on that seventh day, anything goes.

Hello, beautiful. After seeing it on Caitlin‘s blog, Flax French Toast has become one of my favorite “treat” breakfasts. It’s super-easy to make, too. For two pieces of bread, I use two eggs, 1/4 cup nonfat organic milk, 1 tablespoon ground flax and a dash of cinnamon.

Mix everything together, dip the bread into the wet mixture and then let the soaked break sizzle on the stove for a couple minutes on each side.

I topped my French toast with a squirt of maple agave syrup and a bunch of pomegranate arils and blackberries.

Yum, yum, yum! This is such a filling breakfast but also really nutritious, with lots of fiber and protein. Flax is one of the best foods out there for you: it’s high in Omega-3’s and fiber, as well as lignans, which are natural cancer-fighting compounds. It also adds a nice crunch to the toast. 😉

If you haven’t tried pomegranate before, do! I’d only had the juice prior to a few months ago but the arils (seeds) are the best part: check out this guide on how to eat a pomegranate.

Do you have a typical breakfast?

Examiner.com: Meet the Secretary of Love

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2010 1:56 pm

    What beautiful pictures! I’m drooling over those bright colors, seriously a great way to start the day. I haven’t had french toast in so long, I’ve got to change that because now I’m craving it.

    I definitely have a typical breakfast: a green smoothie! Chard or spinach, bananas, berries, soymilk, water, and peanut butter and lots of cinnamon. I crave it so much that I start looking forward to breakfast even as I’m falling asleep the night before.

  2. January 14, 2010 1:58 pm

    Do I HAVE breakfast is the question…haha

  3. January 14, 2010 2:34 pm

    ahhh yes i always have a typical breakfast of oatmeal with some frozen berries and either AB or PB on top!! I don’t think I could ever get sick of it…I keep thinking I will but havent yet in about a year!! your breakfast is so coloful and pretty!

  4. January 14, 2010 2:38 pm

    I love pom seeds! They’re soo good right out of the fruit! I like how the juice just explodes in your mouth lol. A burst of citrus-y goodness

  5. January 14, 2010 2:57 pm

    Because of my late night eating, and because I’ve been missing my alarm clock each morning…I haven’t had time to have a decent breakfast for sometime…eeps! Usually I like oatmeal and eggs, though.

  6. January 14, 2010 3:20 pm

    My typical breafast was usually oatmeal until a couple weeks ago. I got a bit bored with it and have since been making fun smoothies for breakfast!
    Still loving them!

  7. January 14, 2010 5:56 pm

    That sounds so good! I wonder if I can make vegan french toast. Hmm… probably not! LOL! I usually have oatmeal with flax and sugar every day!

  8. January 14, 2010 7:13 pm

    I’ve made a lot of effort to change up my breakfast routine lately, but I am big on oatmeal with sliced apple, cinnamon and sometimes some blueberries. Sometimes I have a bagel with some egg whites or cream cheese. I’ve been trying to make some pancakes and change it up. Might have to try this french toast, it looks delicious!

  9. January 15, 2010 9:45 am

    This looks absolutely delicious!

    I try to make breakfast special everyday, and I can’t wait to try this in the next few weeks. We’re huge french toast fans here.

  10. jocelynsteiber permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:18 am

    I tend to go through cycles. I have my 2 hard boiled eggs with toast, Oatmeal with Maca powder & Cinnamon & raisins, Yogurt with berries.

    Right now I’ve started a new phase:: bars with banana! (This one started since I started a new job and have been so busy in the ams!)

    xo

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

  11. January 16, 2010 9:12 am

    I usually eat a half cup of egg beaters on an english muffin with a slice of cheese.

  12. February 10, 2010 7:23 pm

    that looks yummy and healthy. too bad we rarely have fresh berries available in Manila. I hafta go to the weekend markets to buy those berries…. U

Trackbacks

  1. What’s for breakfast? «

Leave a Reply

