Skip to content

Kindergarten reunion

November 30, 2009
Thanksgiving is a time to remember what you’re grateful for. And this weekend was filled with reminders, especially as I spent a lot of time with my family and old friends.
From dinner at a favorite high school haunt and homemade pie with my two best friends from high school to lunch with chums I’ve had since kindergarten, it was a weekend full of good food and great people.

I hadn’t realized that my friendship with Tim, Kristen and Teddy dated back to kindergarten until someone mentioned it as we sat around a metal table at Chipotle. At first, I commented that it was like being back in high school until someone else noted, “No, we’ve known each other kindergarten.”

It’s such a cliche but time really does fly. To think that kindergarten was 18 years ago — that’s a high school senior! Tim and I have know each other even longer, since our days as wee tots at Franklin Montessori School.
Since high school graduation, we’ve moved around the country and the world. Between attending three different undergraduate universities (Indiana University, Boston College and two of us at University of Maryland), studying abroad (Tim in Sydney, me in London) and navigating the post-uni world, we don’t spend as much time together as we once did.
Today, Kristen’s getting her Master’s at Georgetown in preparation for winning a Pulitzer (wasn’t that your high school superlative?), Tim’s at University of Michigan and getting ready to be the breakout star of the National Symphony Orchestra, and Teddy’s living the life of a captain of industry in Manhattan. Hey, someone has to make some real money!
There’s a constant ebb and flow with most friendships. I went a few years without talking to one of my best friends since elementary school — the fact that we’ve reconnected brings me such joy. What’s that cheesy Girl Scouts song about friendship? “Make new friends but keep the old/ One is silver and the other gold.”
Now is when I’m really valuing old friends and new beginnings.
It’s fun to connect with old friends because there’s so much shared history. The three hours spent sitting at lunch passed in a flash as we gossiped about former classmates (thanks to Facebook for making stalking so much easier) and caught up on our lives.
Do you keep in touch with friends from the school years?
7 Comments leave one →
  1. inmytummy permalink
    November 30, 2009 5:30 pm

    My cousins went to your high school! I went to WJ in Bethesda. Small world.I do keep in touch with my high school friends, more than my college ones actually. I live in Atlanta now so I don't see them often, but when I do, it's like nothing has changed.

  2. Erin permalink
    November 30, 2009 7:09 pm

    That is *such* a small world! My stepsister goes to WJ and my stepbrothers will be there soon.

  3. Tim permalink
    November 30, 2009 11:05 pm

    Nice little blog. BUT There's a mistake, and your mother would be so disappointed. It's Indiana University, not University of Indiana. 😉

  4. Erin permalink
    November 30, 2009 11:07 pm

    Oh no! I'm so embarrassed! 😦

  5. Michelle permalink
    December 1, 2009 8:11 pm

    That's so funny. I am hanging out with my friend from kindergarten tomorrow as well. It's funny how life is sometimes. I grew up on a small farming community, so the connections that I've made with my elementary school class (25 of us for six years) is something I am so grateful for. I hope that my kids experience this.

  6. December 6, 2009 5:37 am

    Even though I'm not in the Kindergarden club, I wish I could have been there!

Trackbacks

  1. Kindergarten memories «

Leave a Reply

